Note:  All photos are randomized for anonymity.

Hidden Beach Review

G &T Couple, May 2019

Trip Report for 16th Anniversary of Hidden Beach Resort.

WOW!  What a wonderful week for with Castaways Travel for the 16th Anniversary of Hidden Beach Resort.

Arrived in Cancun on Friday (May 3rd, 2019), the flight was on time with no wait on Customs or immigration.  Lomas was right out front and provided direction to our private car and within minutes, we were swept away from the crowds and on our way to HBR.

Upon arrival, we were welcomed with “Welcome Home” and one felt all of the stress being relieved.  As new arrived early, our room was not ready, so off lunch at the pool.  The staff found us with our keys to the room and as normal, the room was wonderful.

There were a lot of activities during the day and great themes every in the evening.  We certainly enjoyed the spectacular service throughout our stay.  Volleyball continues to be a fantastic activity that a lot of guests partake in, but equally, the chairs were filled with guest reading and relaxing.  The Naay Spa on Sunday evening (when one can be clothes free) is a fantastic way to start the week.

Everyday @ 4:30, the hot tub got crowed as Happy Hour had arrived with most day appetizers available for guest at the tub.

Regarding the Theme Nights: Leather and Lace we a huge fun party, Mexican Night (Cinco de Mayo was fun, but the Lady in Red and Toga were awesome.  Glow night had a different painter, which was not as creative as our past experience.  But every night the Moonlight Pavilion was full of guest having a great time.

The final night, Friday, was the Gala Night celebrating the 16th anniversary of HBR being Au Natural. A great night outside by the pool with first class food and service; which featured The Jersey Boys for entertainment.

Regarding the restaurants; we ate at a number of them (HBR, Culinarium, Gourmet Pub, Klay Talay (Asian)) and without hesitation, we will say the food and service were at the top.  One evening we ventured to the Guacamaias Bar (Swinging Bar) at El Dorado that was exceptional, great entertainment and relaxed atmosphere, but no one talked to each other like at HBR.

As everyone who has been to HBR knows, this is a great resort to be experienced.

G&T

J&L Couple, May 31, 2018

Trip Report for 16th Anniversary of Hidden Beach Resort.

WOW!  What a wonderful week for with Castaways Travel for the 16th Anniversary of Hidden Beach Resort.

Arrived in Cancun on Friday (May 3rd, 2019), the flight was on time with no wait on Customs or immigration.  Lomas was right out front and provided direction to our private car and within minutes, we were swept away from the crowds and on our way to HBR.

Upon arrival, we were welcomed with “Welcome Home” and one felt all of the stress being relieved.  As new arrived early, our room was not ready, so off lunch at the pool.  The staff found us with our keys to the room and as normal, the room was wonderful.

There were a lot of activities during the day and great themes every in the evening.  We certainly enjoyed the spectacular service throughout our stay.  Volleyball continues to be a fantastic activity that a lot of guest partake in, but equally, the chairs were filled with guest reading and relaxing.  The Naay Spa on Sunday evening (when one can be clothes free) is a fantastic way to start the week.

Everyday @ 4:30, the hot tub got crowed as Happy Hour had arrived with most day appetizers available for guest at the tub.

Regarding the Theme Nights: Leather and Lace we a huge fun party, Mexican Night (Cinco de Mayo was fun, but the Lady in Red and Toga were awesome.  Glow night had a different painter, which was not as creative as our past experience.  But every night the Moonlight Pavilion was full of guest having a great time.

The final night, Friday, was the Gala Night celebrating the 16th anniversary of HBR being Au Natural. A great night outside by the pool with first class food and service; which featured The Jersey Boys for entertainment.

Regarding the restaurants; we ate at a number of them (HBR, Culinarium, Groumet Pub, Klay Talay (Asian)) and without hesitation, we will say the food and service were at the top.  One evening we ventured to the Guacamaias Bar (Swinging Bar) at El Dorado that was exceptional, great entertainment and relaxed atmosphere, but no one talked to each other like at HBR.

As everyone who has been to HBR knows, this is a great resort to be experienced.

G&T

 

Hidden Beach Masquerade Night

J&L Couple, May 2018

J&L Couple, May 31, 2018

What an astounding experience!

Everything was so smoothly run. We landed and were immediately taken care of with kid gloves (by Lomas Travel at the Cancun Airport). The transport to the resort was seamless. At the resort reception, we were even greeted with a welcome drink. The room was perfect. It was a swim up and perfectly located. The rest was heaven.

Meals were delicious and varied, the staff was delightful, (Alejandra, Galdino, Angelica, Norma, Esperanza, Carlos, etc). If we had any requests, they were immediately taken care of. The massages and hydrotherapy experiences were so enjoyable. We will return.

I must confess, I was concerned about all the deaths and bad experiences being reported on Trip Advisor about some all-inclusive resorts on the Mayan Riviera, but my fears were allayed. I felt so protected and safe. This place will continue to be excellent. It has already made outstanding improvements since we visited about eleven years ago, and the attention to detail and work ethic will guarantee even more success.

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts!

woman walking towards the water at hidden beach

M&M Couple, May 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Quintana Roo and HBR. We were referred to Castaways and HBR by friends from another resort, and the experience lived up to their billing and exceeded our expectations. It was a very comfortable, (au) natural experience. We met some great folks which made it even better. It is definitely on our list for a return engagement, perhaps even for the 16th anniversary!

1) Reservations process and service – wonderful; lots of communication, fast response, moved us from waitlist to HBR room (yay!)
2) Airport transfers – Arrival/Departure – great new airport; was a little bit confused by customs procedure and exactly where to find Lomas, but we figured it out; other than traffic and having to wait a bit for the ride, the trip was pleasant and uneventful
3) Hotel Room – loved the in-room whirlpool; other than the H2O going out for part of one day, it was a very nice room with a view of the pool and beach; would have loved a balcony as well
4) Resort service & dining – service was excellent for the most part, although sometimes we had to wait a bit even when there were few folks seated; we enjoyed the food and especially appreciated the staff making adjustments for us; we would have liked more plant-based and dairy-free options for eating; we came down with intestinal issues after eating at the Asian restaurant, but clearly do not know if that was the cause 🙁 thankfully it didn’t last too long;
5) Entertainment – glow night artist was amazing; loved the water volleyball
6) Hosts – Gary and Terrie were lovely hosts; very friendly and helpful; we enjoyed seeing what new outfit Terrie was wearing each time it changed 🙂
7) Concierge, Martin, and staff – they helped make it a great experience; the concierge folks came to us so we didn’t have to wait around or come back to them; check-in and check-out were smooth and pleasant
8) Anything else you would suggest or improve – we would skip the school girl night and would prefer lingerie night instead; would love some specific advice on tipping (I did a lot of research to come up with our plan), which seemed to increase the attentiveness of the staff significantly; we needed to make all of our reservations when we arrived, as options were limited the next day; it would have been nice to have information with maps about Sensimar and El Dorado at check-in so that we could have planned more effectively; loved having unlimited towels and plenty of palaces and chairs.

Castaways Note: Gratuities are INCLUDED in the room rate. Some guests discreetly tip for exceptional service but not expected.
woman taking off her top at hidden beach resort clothing optional resort

Anonymous, May 2018

Well, another year and another week at Hidden Beach. Chris has already posted a big thank you to Gary and Terrie. I think we all feel the same way, Sooooo. Thank You, Terrie and you top Gary. We hope to see you hosting again next year.

It was a great week scheduling gave us all Two Foam Parties and Two Glow nights. That’s a scheduling oops that I think we all can live with. The singing outburst was not as much as last year, no improvement in talent either. I think the gang at Tinker’s Cove were looking for Alice and putting it to song.

I myself developed multiple personalities. I thought I was Superman. Then morphed into Juanita (a HOT???? Latino babe). In my last delusional moment, I may have been a priest. I do believe I had a few minutes of clarity when I met this hottie named Bethany. Hope we invited her back for next year. Bethany Muy Caliente !!!!!!

I don’t want to forget the other activities. Volleyball always fun. Flip flops and Margaritas a new event brought to you by Gary and Terrie.. Water balloon battles. Maybe next year we could have lawn tractor races. I know someone who would love that event. (No names). Also, Just a trivia fact. Guests both new and repeat now know the location of Tinker’s Cove. It will be our secret.

Last but not least. The reason HBR has a 5-star rating. A very Big Thank You to the Staff. I did not get photos of all, and to those, I missed my apologies. I have included their photos so we all and look back and remember them. Carlos and Roberto our Food, Alberto and Esperanza our Drinks, Angel, Gaspar, and Aniceto our breakfast and lunch, Ricardo wait staff. Pedro our late afternoon and evening drinks,
Galdino our evening meals and wonderful service. Last but not least Angelica. She may not have been the one to do your daily Towel sculpture and housekeeping, she was ours and we were very pleased.

Finally, Thanks to Jose Martin Garcia Hernandez “Chef de Village”. You have a great team working for you to take good care of them all. Hope to see you all next year. Guest and staff.

hiddenbeach-073

Gary and Terrie May 2018

This was our 8th visit to Hidden Beach Resort (HBR) as part of the Castaways groups and as expected, we had a marvelous time and plan on returning.  We have hosted the HBR Anniversary week and for the last 3 years and invite you to join us next year for the 16th anniversary.

 

Friday

We had a great flight from Ohio to Cancun.

 

When we arrived in Cancun, Immigration and Customs were fully staffed with very little wait time.  Lomas’ main operation (transportation) is in the middle aisle, but the private car operation is just past the Margaretville Tiki Bar to the right.  Everything went very smooth and we were in the car and on our way to HBR. The Lomas driver was very pleasant and even returned to HBR to give Gary his cell phone that was left in the car.

 

Upon arrival, we were greeted with “Welcome Home”, and it certainly felt like it.  Registration was smooth, but as usual, the room was not ready. As normal, we went to the pool, ate lunch with a few crevasses and started to relax and enjoy the festivities at the pool, mingled and started to know people and gain new friends.  Our room was ready shortly after.

 

Friday evening we ate dinner at HBR and made it an early evening being a travel day.  The food was just as we had recalled, fantastic.

 

Saturday  

On Saturday, many of the guests arrived, HBR provided each guest with a warm, scented towel and special Castaways martini!  There was also an open bar and refreshments. Upon guest arrival, we distributed the Castaway sling bags and gifts and the extras to some potential new clients.  The new sling bag was a hit.

 

The lobster dinner (A special treat for Castaways Guest) was very much appreciated.  Those with Swim Ups ate on their patio outside their rooms. Others ate in the courtyard or on the beach, everyone raved how romantic it was.

 

With Saturday being a travel day for most of the guest, there was no official Castaways theme night.  However, HBR had their normal Glow Night with the body painting, which many participated in. This was a special night as we participated and were painted twice this week (HBR night and Castaways night)

 

Sunday

We had a very relaxing day at the pool.  HBR has incorporated Foam Parties into their regular schedule so we enjoyed a sneak peek at what was to come on Tuesday.

We signed up for spa treatments and took advantage of the opportunity to try the Au Natural Water Journey at the Naay Spa on Sunday evening; a very relaxing and soothing experience.

 

Rocker night was a GREAT with many Guns and Roses themed fans.  HBR entertainment has a great rock and roll band that extended their playing time at the request on the guest:  One More Song!

 

Monday
Lots of volleyball throughout the day, Flips Flops and Margaritas (a new activity) was entertaining.  Castaways hosted a Meet and Great by the hot tub and HBR provided Champaign and delicious appetizers.

 

School Girl Night brought out many a naughty girl in a variety of teeny, tiny schoolgirl skirts and even a few school principles.  Some men were not going to be outdone and we had Christina, Juanita, and even Josephine grace us with their presence as school girls this year.

 

Tuesday

The Foam Party we highly anticipated again this year, even with HBR incorporating this into their regular event schedule (a HBR double events for us).  A fun time was had by all with the foam and water balloons fight.

The evening entertainment had us in the theme of Masquerade; was relaxing with us arriving at Moonlight in our Masks and Sexy Lingerie.

 

Wednesday

We and 26 guests sailed the Nude Catamaran Cruise, including the host couple.  Great day on the water: two snorkeling opportunities and the wind cooperated so many guests tried the Spinnaker sail.  This year, the BBQ lunch was able to be on the beach and the food was phenomenal: ribs, shrimps, chicken wings, a variety of salads, etc.  Those guest who stayed at HBR enjoyed the quiet day.

With everyone loving the song from the Zac Brown Band, “Castaways” (https://www.bing.com/search?q=zach+brown+band+castaway+2018&qs=SC&pq=zack+brown+band+cas&sc=8-19&cvid=45B6BD59A4124FD2AC1C18F071252C9F&FORM=QBRE&sp=1) and someone even brought “Wilson” the volleyball (from the Castaways movie), the Castaways party was very enjoyable.

 

Thursday

A relaxing day around the pool with plenty of volleyball, tequila, crevasses, mudslides, dirty bananas and everything else.

Glow Night, the body painter once again did a great job and with many of the men ended up being painted.

Friday

The afternoon had the traditional volleyball game between the Hidden Beach staff and guest with the staff winning, as normal (they had some ringers).  You certainly don’t want to be the one hitting the ball into the pool bar or you have to do a tequila shot!

 

The HDR 15th Anniversary dinner was held outside around the pool and the weather was mild, a slight breeze and a beautiful evening.  Everything was orchestrated perfectly and the dinner was a lovely affair. There was a Champaign toast and a special cake and deserts that were very professional and extremely tasty.  The “Jersey Boys” were the best entertainment of the week.

 

Saturday

Goodbyes with a lot of hugs and kisses, we were planning to be back next year with promises of bigger and better events and fun already being planned.

 

Restaurants

  • Hidden Beach Resort Restaurant – whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner, the food was delicious and a variety for every meal.  Breakfast and lunch could be ordered off the menu or buffet style; the buffet lunch at the pool was in the new outdoor kitchen (pictures attached).  Castaway guest were treated to a surf and turf dinner which was individualized by HRB for each guest. The service was exceptional all week.
  • Gourmet Pub:  Reservations required.  Both appetizers and entries are small portions, but very good.  Order many items, but guest raved on the uniqueness of the menu options.
  • Mia Casa (Italian):  There are two Italian restaurants serving the same menu, both great
  • Klay Talay (Asian):  Reservations required.  The décor is stunning. The server can help with food selection and portions if a guest is not familiar with the food.  Food was exceptional.
  • La Carreta (Mexican):  Authentic Mexican food – what would one expect?!
  • Culinarium – Excellent service; a great place for a romantic dinner.

 

Bar Service

All bars were well stocked with top-shelf liquor; no complaints from anyone.  At the request of the guest, diet cranberry juice was even brought it. The bars could use some fresh fruit to add to their tropical drinks.  It’s so nice to see Pedro, Alberto and Esperanza year after year.

 

Grounds

HBR is beautifully landscaped and well-kept as always.

 

Guest Rooms

Soft tones and colors for relaxing when not at the pool.  Plenty of hot water and air conditioning worked well. Well stocked liquor cabinet and mini bar.  Turn down service most nights.

 

Swimming Pools – Beaches

Plenty of lounge chairs (more than in the past and everyone had a chair without looking; instead of the normal 6 chairs by the pool front, there were at least 10) and umbrellas whether you want to sit around the pool or on the beach as well as many cabanas.  Even when the resort was sold out on Wednesday, there was plenty of room; it didn’t feel crowded. Swim up bar was popular to keep everyone “hydrated”. Several guests took the opportunity to have massages or their surf & turf dinners on the beach. The beach is not very wide and guests should not expect soft, white sand. There was an unusual amount of seaweed this year, but the HBR grounds staff work on the removal morning, noon and night.

 

Hot tub

The hot tub was usually crowded at the end of the afternoon for one last cocktail and very good snacks (chicken fingers, onion rings, sliders, etc. every day) before folks went for naps/dinner/nightly entertainment.

 

Entertainment –Theme Nights

  • Most guest dress this year, including the men!
  • Rocker Night – Guns & Roses, Twisted Sister, Deaf Leopard and a number of other bands showed up for this event.
  • School Girls Night – a huge hit – we even had three men dress as naughty school girls.
  • Mascaraed Sexy Lingerie Night – good theme with some pretty wild masks.
  • Castaway’s Island – everyone loved Wilson!
  • Glow Party – huge success even with HBR party of Saturday night.
  • Gala night – sexy, fun and sophisticated!

 

Notes

  • A good week for Castaways Guest.
  • A number of guests were at HBR because of the hurricane damage to St. Martin.  All loved it and found it to be great
  • HBR staff excelled at customer service; it’s nice to see the same faces after all these years!  For his first year, Martin (New GM) excelled.
  • HBR made each of our personal lobster dinners special.  Those with swim-up suites had private dinners and those who did not – had dinner on the beach; a little windy.
  • HBR did an excellent job celebrating special occasions:
    • One lady had a 50th Birthday
    • A couple had their 5th  anniversary
  • Everyone became acclimated to the clothing optional resort very easily.
  • Catamaran trip – Great fun trip with Pepe and the gang.
  • The bars could use some fresh fruit to add to their tropical drinks versus the various fruit liquors.
  • Castaways Gave new bags and goodies and were very much appreciated.
hiddenbeach-166

JG Single Male May 2018

Castaways 15th Annual Resort Anniversary Week

THANKS so much for such a great time during the 15th Anniversary Week. It was my first trip to HBR and my first trip with Castaways Travel. I really liked the personalization that happened throughout the week. Everything was organized and all that I and others had to do was enjoy the activities and each other. As a single participant, I was always included with the group and felt like my involvement was voluntary. Lomas Travel did such a great job of transporting people and helpful at the Cancun airport. Gary & Terrie are professionals at what they do. They also are part of the group and enjoy themselves. I have such great memories and hopefully will add to them in future travel with Castaways. The best of continued success and future adventures.

hidden beach foam

M&D Couple  October 2017

We’ve have been meaning to share an update since we got back but life has not stopped turning – albeit in a good way!

How was our trip?  When people have been asking me that, I honestly, must stand back for a minute with a delicious smile on my face and try to think of where to begin to describe how fantastic and amazing and wonderful everything was…and it was.

It helps that I am madly in love with my husband and we can have a great time pretty much anywhere; but throw in the glorious and breath-taking resort, the people (staff and guests alike), the first-class accommodations and food and the extra touches like a beachfront personal candlelight dinner ON your 21st wedding anniversary and everything about this trip put us over the moon!

Here is a link to the photos that we were able to put on our Facebook page (wink!)  I think it gives a nice glimpse into the grandness of the week.

Winter may be coming but it will only take a quick remembrance of this journey to make the coldest Pittsburgh Winter day seem silly and take us back to the warm sunny beach of Mexico.

Thank you.  Thank you for making it so easy to book with you and your warm emails that I looked forward to receiving.  We made SO many new friends and had so many wonderful private moments that this will be a trip we will never forget or stop talking about.

We cannot wait to book our next adventure with you.  Take good care of yourself.  You are welcome to share this with anyone.  You are a world class travel agency and we will certainly be using you again.

Have a wonderful day, our Amigos!

PS from James Bailey, learn about Group Trips to Hidden Beach using this link.

hidden beach reviews

J&K Couple May 2017

It’s the staff!

Just back from Hidden Beach Resort. This was our 6th visit and a Castaways 14th Anniversary Week Hosted trip by Gary & Terrie. Many of the guests attended last year’s Anniversary so it was great to see so many old and young friends. So about Hidden Beach. Why do we return? It’s the staff!! The staff is the best that I have ever encountered. They go above and beyond to insure you are enjoying yourselves. I have written prior trip reports on Hidden Beach; In those, I have praised the Staff and Management. I have come to realize without the staff that works at Hidden Beach I would rate the resort 4 Stars. We feel like family when we are at Hidden Beach. In truth, we first felt like family on our first trip. Thank You to all the Staff at Hidden Beach for all your efforts and friendship. IT’S THE STAFF!!!!!! To Management, the staff is your most important asset.

The resort grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Rooms are cleaned daily, food is great. There is a mini fridge stocked with beer, soda, and snacks. This is just below the cabinet shelf stocked with vodka. scotch and other spirits. There are many places to relax around the pool or on the beach. Very small beach. Premium drinks at the bars, Many creative drinks as well. All meals can be taken at the resort or If you have the energy to dress you can venture to the two resorts on either side of Hidden beach, all owned and operated by the same company, Karisma.  As a guest at Hidden Beach, there is No Charge for dining next door at 10 more restaurants. Room service is available. We have never ordered room service. We do venture off property to have dinner at the Italian and Mexican restaurants. I use the gym daily, there is a small fridge with stocked cold bottled water and a plate with fresh fruit available. Free weights 3 bikes, 2 treadmills are available.

We would like to mention two individuals from this trip. First: Roberto, He is a Chef and does the cooking demonstrations. Roberto is a new kid on the block but is very personable and helpful. The second is not staff His name is Alberto.  We were fortunate the catch most of his act returning from dinner. He is a tenor singer.  He performed several songs, then he did a few Italian Opera pieces. WOW!! Vocalists are not my first choice but this man was amazing.

The last item to cover is the guests. We have returned with prior friends this occasion, but on several prior visits, we just met people. The best description I can offer is that you can be as sociable as you want or just relax with your book or Kindle. Prior reports cover other activities and suggestions. I am feeling a bit long winded right now. So this is the end.     Enjoy !!!!!

couple having dinner hidden beach mexico photo gallery

Host Couple – May 2017

Friday

After a smooth flight, host couple arrived in Cancun Airport.  Immigration and customs were fully staffed with no wait time.

Saturday 

The registration was hosted in Moonlight to allow more room for the influx of arrivals (19 couples). Castaways had a table as well as the Spa and Lomas.  Saturday guest reported only a 20 – 30-minute wait with Immigration and Customs, unlike last year’s 2-hour wait!  Lomas travel provided transportation with no issues.  HBR provided guest with a warm, scented towel and special Castaways martini!  There was an also an open bar and refreshments.  Upon guest arrival, we distributed the Castaway beach bags and materials and to some potential new clients.  The Castaways sarong was once again a huge hit.

Rocker Night was a huge success considering it was a travel day for most guest.

Sunday

We hosted the Meet and Greet.  Several guests signed up for spa treatments and many guests took the opportunity to try the Au Natural Water Journey at the Naay Spa on Sunday evening; a very relaxing and soothing experience.  The Glow Party was a blast with the neon costumes and the DJ and entertainment staff provided the body painting.

Monday
Lots of volleyball throughout the day.  Hidden Beach provided Champaign and treats for the afternoon hot tub party.  The Sexy Cartoon Party had traditional to very sexy costumes.  The winners of the best costume received a great massage from HBR.

Tuesday

The afternoon Foam Party and water balloon fight provided lots of laughter. The evening entertainment started with a lingerie show and most guests arrived in their Masks and Sexy Lingerie.

Wednesday

A total of 24 guests sailed the Nude Catamaran Cruise, including the host couple.  Great day on the water:  two snorkeling opportunities and the wind cooperated so many guests tried the Spinnaker sail.  Due to a federal beach inspection, the BBQ lunch was on the boat which worked out extremely well.  School Girls Night was a huge success – who knew there so many different colors and plaids of teeny, tiny school girl skirts.  There was a pretty impressive male striptease, but our lips are sealed on the specifics.

Thursday

A relaxing day around the pool.  Many guests requested Western Night as the theme and as expected, another great hit.  The 2-person western band played older honkytonk music.  The party picked up after the DJ started playing a more current county playlist.

Friday

HBR once again celebrated Cinco de Mayo with the decorations, tequila bar tasting, great variety of Mexican foods, but without the donkey this year.  The afternoon had the traditional volleyball game between the Hidden Beach staff and guest with the staff winning.  You certainly don’t want to be the one hitting the ball in the pool bar or you have to do a tequila shot!

The HDR 14th Anniversary dinner was held in Moonlight buffet style.  A special Champaign toast and a cake were part of the festivities.  As a host couple, we thanked everyone for their travels with Castaways and reminded them to sign up for 2018.  The “Jersey Boys” were the best entertainment of the week.

Saturday

Goodbyes with a lot of hugs and kisses and reminders to sign a contract for next year’s 15th Anniversary.

Restaurants

  • Hidden Beach Resort Restaurant – whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner, the food was delicious and a variety for every meal. Breakfast and lunch could be ordered off the menu or buffet style; the buffet lunch was usually around the pool.  Castaway guests were treated to a surf and turf dinner which was individualized by HRB for each guest.  The service was exceptional all week.
  • Gourmet Pub: Reservations required.  Both appetizers and entries are small portions so order many items, but guest raved on the uniqueness of the menu options.
  • Mia Casa (Italian): There are two Italian restaurants serving the same menu.  We ate at the newer one; the food was delicious and the décor was lovely.
  • Klay Talay (Asian): Reservations required.  The décor is stunning.  The waiters can help with food selection and portions if guests are not familiar with the food.
  • La Carreta (Mexican): Authentic Mexican food – what would one expect?!
  • Culinarium – Excellent service; great place for a romantic dinner.

Bar Service

All bars were well stocked with top shelf liquor; no complaints from anyone.  The bars could use some fresh fruit to add to their tropical drinks.

Grounds

HBR is beautifully landscaped and well kept.

Guest Rooms

Soft tones and colors for relaxing when not at the pool.  Plenty of hot water and air conditioning worked well.  Well-stocked liquor cabinet and mini bar.  Turn down service most nights. 

Swimming Pools – Beaches

Plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas whether you want to sit around the pool or on the beach as well as many palapas.  Even when the resort was sold out on Wednesday, there was plenty of room; it didn’t feel crowded.  Swim up bar was popular to keep everyone “hydrated”.  Several guests took the opportunity to have massages or their surf & turf dinners on the beach.  The beach is not very wide and do not expect soft, white sand.

Hot tub

The hot tub was usually crowded at the end of the afternoon for one last cocktail before folks went for naps/dinner/nightly entertainment.

If you have never been to Hidden Beach, it should be a priority for your next au natural vacation.  For those of you who have been to Hidden Beach, come back during next year’s 15th anniversary and party with Castaways.

Screenshot 2019-06-06 19.49.02

Castaways Couple – October 2016

This is in part a review of Hidden Beach and partly a trip report. This is our fifth visit and we had already booked the May 2017 Anniversary week. Yes, we do like Hidden Beach. First off I want to direct my comments to Alfonso Lopez General Manager EDSS. Although we have never met I will congratulate you on the Management and staff at Hidden Beach. You have a great team from Management to all the staff. We will mention some in the review but all staff represents the resort in the most professional and friendly manner we have experienced. Thank You for organizing such a great team. They are your greatest asset.

We book our trips using Castaways they have a relationship with the resort and Lomas. Transportation to and from the resort is provided by Castaways using Lomas. That gets you there and back. On average the time to Hidden Beach is about 55 minutes. There was a problem with Lomas this trip. Castaways books private cars for its customers. We were late arrival by 2 hours and we shared a ride to Hidden beach. Due to lateness, we did not have a problem with that. On the return trip, we were scheduled as shared transportation. This was a medium size bus with several stops on the way to the airport. The trip took one hour and fifty minutes. Not Happy!!
We have referred the problem to Castaways; waiting for a response. We have tried to remember questions we have when going to a resort for the first time and will use them to describe our stay.

What are the people like?
Sociable and welcoming, helpful, fun, from all over. This trip first day getting into the pool I mentioned that the pool water was warmer than ours in Florida. Next thing I know I was talking with two couples that live within 25 miles of home. Another couple from Cocoa Beach. Not to mention couples from Venice Italy, Texas, Iowa. Many repeat guest and first-timers, many planning for a return trip. Note: just in case you did not know this is a resort with policies of no PDA’s or in your face stuff. A rule supported by all guest that we have met over several visits. The only problem we have encountered are people who smoke. As long as you upwind no problem. Many smokers do tend to move away from groups to grab a smoke. It is appreciated. Note: All rooms are non-smoking as are the enclosed restaurants. The open-air bars permit smoking.

What is there to do?
There are exercise rooms, one in the resort ( 2 treadmills. 1 elliptical. 3 bikes. and weights. About 30 x 40 feet with AC). The exercise room at Sensimar (next to Hidden Beach) is available but I have never used it. Note: exercise room is not AN. Towels and bottled water & fruit are on site. In addition water Volleyball several times daily. Loads of fun (rules???) enjoy and have fun. Water aerobics on most days. Yoga or stretch classes. Kayaks are available. Should you choose to be a slug like myself there are many recliners and Palapas to Relax, Read, Sleep, enjoy drinks delivered by Esperanza.
How is the entertainment?
Varied. There are theme nights each night and Music in the Moonlight Lounge. Acts on a few nights. Bands some evenings and afternoons by the pool. A recent addition was a band called “The Lovers” in the afternoon they played many people were dancing in the pool and having a great time. Songs from the ’50s, 60’s 70’s. Another band played traditional Bob Marley music. One evening at dinner in La Vista there was a Mariachi Band.

What about the food?
La Vista is poolside at Hidden Beach. Breakfast Lunch and Dinner is served. Lunch is also available poolside and is enjoyed by most guests. Some enjoy La Vista. We ordered the Risotto with roasted veggies from La Vista and retrieved the rest of our meal from poolside. There are several restaurants available: La Vista at Hidden Beach, The Italian and Asian in the main building, The Mexican, The Pub, another Italian and an international in Sensimar. Reservations are needed for the Asian (tends to be booked up) and The Pub. You can make reservations on arrival or later at the front office. Our favorites are La Vista, Mexican and The Italian in the main building. Portion size at all is excellent. It’s your call on portion size at poolside lunch. Note: there is a policy to ask about food allergies at all restaurants. You will be accommodated. Note: A new practice is to have breakfast prepared poolside on Sundays and Thursdays. Nice change of pace.

Bars?
Pool Bar and Moonlight. Most top shelf brands. Beer in cans and draft. Wines and many mixed creations. Bottled water as well. The bars on the dark side are available if you are willing to get dressed and walk over. Never have. Note: There is a mini bar and fridge in your room.

Resort?
Grounds – Spotless and well maintained. Lush with plants.
Rooms – Very clean and comfortable. Sheets and towels changed daily. Smoke-free.
Beach – Did not make it to the beach this trip did see several guests wading out in the water.
Hot Tubs – One poolside and one in the Moonlight Lounge. Poolside hot tub attracts guest around 4 or 5 PM.

Staff?
Excellent!!! Despite all the other great things about the resort, without the current staff, we could never give Hidden Beach 5 stars. It would be nice but not like visiting family and friends. The bartenders Alberto and Pedro with Esperanza are always excellent. The wait Staff Ancieto. Angel. Erick and Arnulfo are excellent. They also are very tolerant and helpful in my efforts to speak Spanish. Housekeeping staff is almost invisible they accomplish their task and you rarely see them Thank You all for your wonderful service. The activity directors and or entertainment staff, Adrian and Daniel keep things lively and fun. No pressure but you are always welcome to join in. Last but not least the front office and reception Claudia, Alejandra, and Daniel. When you want or need something they are there and always willing to help.

My Bucket List????
This trip was for my birthday. I made up and completed a few bucket list items for my 73 birthday. Three games pool volleyball. Spent my birthday in my birthday suit.
Toasted the sunrise with a scotch in my birthday suit on the beach. It's not that I have not done these things before but I did them on my birthday. Had a great time and the staff did sing Happy Birthday. Hope you enjoy Hidden Beach as much as we did.

Hidden Beach body painting

B&L Couple - May 2016

We visited Hidden Beach Resort during the 13th Anniversary Week!!! First timers ANYWHERE ‘Au Natural’……Our hosts, Gary and Teri, were AMAZING!!!!

Knowing we were nervous for first timers, they greeted us with open arms, walked us through the property and to our room. We had the best time EVER!!!! (NO tan lines)
The beach was a little disappointing (a little shallow in spots), me being a ‘fish’. But, I knew that ahead of time, satellite imaging and such. However, the activities more than
made up for that……Volleyball everyday, THANK YOU ADRIAN, YOU were the best!!!

The body painting was crazy, fun. We slept through the Hawaiian party (too much good food on the first night, LOL)
The catamaran trip was FREAKING AWESOME!!!! Free diving into the cenote. The food was delicious!!! We did manage to venture ‘outside’ the gate: the food on ‘the other side'(at El Dorado)
was delicious as well….however, YOU HAD TO WEAR CLOTHES, couldn’t wait to get back inside!!!!! The PUB on the ‘other’ side had the best wings ever.

All of the guests were very welcoming to us……believe we had more eye to eye conversations with REAL people here in 6 days then back in ‘PRUDE-ilization’.
(that’s what we call the working world, now).

Looking forward to our return trip for my 50th (25th) birthday. Loved the swim-up suite!!! Will be staying there again.

Travel to and from the property was good. Can’t say enough good things, you’ll just have to visit for yourself!!!

Thank you, thank you, thank you……..Memories will last a lifetime!!!! Sunrise on the beach with my hubby (and coffee) = UNFORGETTABLE. Private surf and turf dinner outside
of our room = DELICIOUS!!!!!!

Never laughed so much as the day of the FOAM PARTY……good times with good people!!!

Next time, however, we would love to meet Jim and Champagne, as well!!!!!! We met a lot of very nice enjoyable couple from all over. Everyone made us feel very comfortable and welcome.

Hidden Beach happy customer

G&T Couple – May 2016

Friday

After a smooth flight, we arrived at Cancun Airport.  Immigration and customs went fairly well; only an hour, however, Saturday guest reported a 2 ½ hour wait 9in immigrations.  Lomas travel provided transportation with no issue.  HBR provided us with a warm, scented towel and cocktail as we checked into the resort.  We introduced ourselves to American and her staff and made plans for the following morning Castaways guest check-in.

Ate dinner at HBR and participated in the Glow Party activities.  HBR provides a body painter who does a remarkable job.  Early evening for us as it was our travel day and a big day a head-on Saturday.

Saturday

Lobby 10:00 – 8:00

America had the lobby decorated for the 13th anniversary including the outdoor “pond”; (pictures attached).  Instead of a glass of Champaign to welcome the guest, there was an open bar and refreshments.  Throughout the first few days, we distributed the Castaway beach bags and materials to the guest as they arrived.  The Castaways sarong was a huge hit and a few non-Castaway guests requested one.  There were 13th Anniversary signs posted throughout the resort.

No waiting for guest rooms as they were ready when guests arrived.

  • John and Jackie requested room 1209, but previous guests were already in the room ad it would not be available until Sunday. John and Jackie decided to stay in their assigned room and we did not hear any issues.
  • Cindy and Troy arrived late; their first flight was canceled, thus causing their arrival at HBR to be delayed from 3:00 PM to 9:30 PM. Contacted Lomas with the flight changes and to assure their car would be available in the evening.

Karaoke Night had a small audience since this was a travel day for most of the guest.  

Sunday

We hosted the Meet and Greet on Sunday afternoon around the pool and reminded folks about the free lobster dinner (Castaway guest only), Wednesday’s cameraman trip and to sign up for next year’s 14th Anniversary.  The foam party and water balloon was a HUGE success; a great way to start the week out and many requested to repeat the activity for next year.

Several clients signed up for spa treatments and many guests took the opportunity to try the Au Natural Water Journey at the Naay Spa on Sunday evening; a very relaxing and soothing experience.  The evening concluded with Hawaiian dancers for entertainment.  Most guests arrived in colorful grass skirts and a few coconut bras!

Monday
Hidden Beach provided a Champaign and treats for the afternoon hut tub party.  The Glow Party was a huge success as about 25 guests (male and female) were airbrushed by a very talented artist.  He worked much longer than expected so we expressed our gratitude with a tip.

Tuesday

The afternoon had the traditional volleyball game between the Hidden Beach staff and guest with the guest winning!  You certainly don’t want to be the one hitting the ball into the pool bar or you have to do a tequila shot!  The evening found most guest arriving in Moonlight in their Sexy Lingerie.

Wednesday

A total of 31 guests sailed the Nude Catamaran Cruise, including the host couples.  Great day on the water:  snorkeling a little rough with the current and the beach BBQ lunch much nicer than people expected.  Almost made it back to the dock before the torrential rainstorm let loose.  The bus ride back to the resort had everyone taking a nap to recover in time for the evening activities.  Due to the earlier storm, the beach grill out was moved to the Moonlight Pavilion.  Not many guests participated in the Retro night as they were exhausted from the catamaran trip, plus the theme was confusing as the guests didn’t understand it was the 70’s theme.

Thursday

Had three couples departing and one couple arrive.

  • Coordinated with Lomas to ensure the pick-up location of Dan and Anne Boychuck @ Grand Velas Resort.

HBR did an outstanding job celebrating Cinco de Mayo with all of the decorations, tequila bar tasting, a great variety of Mexican foods and even a donkey to have your picture taken with.  HBR also distributed 13th-anniversary golf shirts to clients.

Rocker Night, as expected was a huge success.  The band was supposed to end at 11:00 and at the encouragement of the guest, the band sang “one more song”, three times!  The DJ was still playing to the guest at midnight when we departed.

Friday

The morning started off slow at the pool; could be a result of the Thursday activities, gaining souvenirs for family members, etc.  John and Jackie departed and we finally met Alex (he booked on Monday, traveled Tuesday and said he slept in until past noon Wednesday and Thursday.  Apparently, he broke up with his girlfriend last week.  Very nice gentleman and all guests got along with him well.

The HDR 13 Anniversary dinner was held poolside with lobster, steak, a Champaign toast, and special cake.  Dr. Dave and Rebecca had their lobster dinner on their patio and were personally invited to the celebration when they finished dinner (which they accepted).  America’s team attended along with their significant others.  HBR staff even partied with us till the wee hours of the morning.  The Acrobats and Divas were probably the best entertainment of the week.

Saturday

Goodbyes with a lot of hugs and kisses and reminders to sign the contract for next year’s 14th Anniversary.

 

Restaurants

  • Hidden Beach Resort Restaurant – whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner, the food was delicious and a variety of choices every meal. Breakfast and lunch could be ordered off the menu or buffet style; the buffet lunch was always around the pool.  Castaway guests were treated to a surf and turf dinner which was individualized by HRB for each guest.
    • Leydi is now the manager of the HBR restaurant and doing a great job.
  • Gourmet Pub: Reservations required.  Both appetizers and entries are small portions so order many items.
  • Mia Casa (Italian): Reservations required.  There are now two Italian restaurants serving the same menu.  We ate at the new one and the décor was lovely.  If a guest is not into pasta, there are many other choices.
  • Klay Talay (Asian): Reservations required.  This restaurant was moved from the El Dorado side to the new lobby area.  The décor is stunning.  The waiters can help with food selection and portions if guests are not familiar with the food.
  • Seaside Market (Buffet): Experienced breakfast and there was a nice assortment of food.

Bar Service

All bars were well stocked with top-shelf liquor; no complaints from anyone.  The bars could use some fresh fruit to add to their tropical drinks. 

Grounds

HBR is beautifully landscaped and well kept.  

Guest Rooms

Soft tones and colors for relaxing when not at the pool.  Plenty of hot water and air conditioning worked well.  Well stocked liquor cabinet and mini bar.  Turn down service every night.

Swimming Pools – Beaches

Plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas whether you want to sit around the pool or on the beach as well as many palapas.  Swim up bar was popular to keep everyone “hydrated”.  Several guests took the opportunity to have massages or their surf & turf dinners on the beach.  The beach is not very wide and do not expect soft, white sand. 

Hot tub – Although the jets did not work, the hot tub was usually crowded at the end of the afternoon for one last cocktail before folks went for naps/dinner/nightly entertainment. 

Entertainment –Theme Nights

  • About half the women dressed for the themes, mostly after dinner. Very few men dressed for the themes.
  • Glow Party – it was suggested to possibly have the airbrush painter come before dinner to paint the guest so that they could enjoy wearing their “outfits” through the entire evening.
  • The retro night was a little confusing for the guest – next year, call it 70’s night.
  • With the different groups, it was evident a couple of nights that there were different themes. Not certain if the guest (not Castaways) knew of the theme night changes. 

Notes

  • A good week for Castaways Guest. If you hear anything other than this, please inform us.
  • HBR staff excelled at customer service; it’s nice to see the same faces after 13 years!
  • Adrian, the entertainment staff, did an excellent job engaging the staff, particularly with water volleyball, aqua fit, and even beach bowling throughout the week.
  • Saturday arrivals: heard nightmare stories at immigration (2 to 2 ½ hours). People backed up the entire corridor, up to the stairs and beyond!!!
  • There were 13th Anniversary signs posted throughout the resort. You might encourage the Castaways logo on them in the future.
  • Castaways beach bags and goodies were a huge success. Several guests used their cozies around the pool and many of the women sported their Castaway sarongs during meal time.
  • Hot tub jets did not work all week and temperature was very hot a couple of days. Apparently, the jets haven’t worked for a few years!?
  • HBR made each guest personal lobster dinners special. Those with swim-up suites had private dinners and those who did not have dinner on the beach; a little windy.
  • HBR did an excellent job celebrating special occasions: birthdays and anniversaries.
    • Greg Fissel’s birthday
    • Scott and Debra Taylor celebrating the 27th anniversary
    • Chris and Andria Nardella 3rd anniversary
  • All the first timers became acclimated to the clothing optional resort very easily.
    • Bill and Lisa
    • Josh and Heather
    • Marty and Susan
    • Dave and Rebecca
  • Themes:
    • Glow Party – it was suggested to possibly have the airbrush painter come before dinner to paint the guest so that they could enjoy wearing their “outfits” through the entire evening.
    • The retro night was a little confusing for the guest – next year, call it 70’s night.
    • Guest-suggested Cowboy/girl night and Pirate night
  • Several guests mentioned it would have been great to have name necklaces, but we remember the time intensity and supplies to make these at Hedo!
  • The bars could use some fresh fruit to add to their tropical drinks versus the various fruit liquors.
  • Small “hiccups” for the week:
    • The first few days we had one refrigerator and an air conditioning with issues that we reported to maintenance and were both fixed immediately.
    • John & Jackie were disappointed that they did not have a luxury car for their transportation from the airport to the hotel.
    • Albert appeared to be on the prowl the first couple of days of the trip, but settled down and spent a lot of time on the Eldorado side at the swinging bar in the evening.
    • Chris was a very nice gentleman, kept to himself, a lot reading on the beach. Disappointed in the beach regarding the sand and being able to utilize for swimming, snorkeling, etc.
  • Sent personalized thank you notes to departing guest and along with 2017 HBR contract.
  • Once home again sent personalized thank you notes; individual pictures and reminders of the 2017 contract.

Read more Trip Reports from other travelers and get all the tips you need for your trip!

hiddenbeach-069

J.K. – May 2016

This was our 4th trip to HBR, and counting the days till our next visit. The positives everything except the beach. If you want a sandy beach with surf, it’s there but not greatest It can be navigated with water-shoes. The lack of a beach is the only negative I can come up with. Also, you can use the beach at the resort next to HBR. Just remember to take your trunks. We don’t miss the beach but we do use the palapas in the afternoon. Wonderful breeze and a great place for a nap.

The resort grounds are well maintained and the rooms very clean. In the past, we avoided the 1100 rooms because of music from the open disco area. That’s gone and the Moonlight area for music is now enclosed.
The most outstanding part of the resort is the staff. The wait staff Galdino, Anecito, New guy Erick and Angel. Bar staff: Alberto and Esperanza days, Pedro evenings. Rosy in housekeeping. Adrian entertainment. I know we have not named everyone we should, but will be sure to get them on the next trip. That includes the kitchen staff picture included. All under the management of “America Sauzamada Quezada” Villas Manager HBR. Thank You all; Staff and Management, for making our vacation so enjoyable.

The Guests! First, the guests from one visit to the next will vary. All are friendly and make you feel welcome. On this trip, we met 4 couples that were; 1st time to HBR and 1st time AN. Age range 30s to ’50s. Three of the couples I kept calling “The Kids”. You know who you are. All enjoyed the experience and they may try to return at the same time next year. It was fun talking with them and hearing their impressions of HBR. I find that a group of people having a good time is contagious.

We only dined on the dark side one night. Next time we will try again to use the new Italian and Asian in the new building. There are exercise rooms available at both resorts
As well as several relaxed rules volleyball games daily. Fun to play or watch. Evening entertainment is fun. Attendance depends on the guests and varies. Not an up late kind of crowd, but that varies as well. Off-site tours are available - see Lomas at the main resort lobby.

Minor notes. Transportation from the airport to HBR takes about an hour in a private car. Longer if it is making stops along the way. Swim up rooms are great but cost a little more. Shade is available. Hot tub gatherings tend to occur after 4 PM but can be spur of the moment. I do not remember which restaurants on the dark side need reservations. Front desk knows. Candlelight dinner for 2 on the beach is available. Do not forget the suntan lotion. Enjoy yourself.